Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Discussion | martial arts / eastern stuff

AuthorMessageTime
crankycefx
Hey,

Does anyone here train martial arts?
Anyone interested in Eastern literature? (IE: Go Rin No Sho, Hagakure, Tao Te Ching, The Art of War, etc.)

I've been reading a lot of it lately and want to start a discussion in the philosophy forum about some stuff.

But I'm making sure there's some people of like minds around here. :)
December 11, 2004, 9:54 AM
hismajesty
I took Karate when I was 4ish.
December 11, 2004, 10:53 AM
crankycefx
You suck, but I forgive you since you're in IB.
December 11, 2004, 8:49 PM
DrivE
I have a 2nd Degree Black Belt and 12 years of TaeKwon Do training and for 3 years I have been doing some extra work in Jiu Jitsu. I've also read Sun Tzu: The Art of War a few times.
December 11, 2004, 9:16 PM
crankycefx
Awesome, Hazard.

Although, I must ask of you: In the higher belts of Tae kwon do, were you trained in much hand strikes, grappling or take down?
I find that to be tae kwon do's weakness.
I did a bit of sparring with some yellow belts from tae kwon do when I was a white belt in Chito Ryu.  They were easily defeated - all I had to do was rush at them screaming, take them down through a pressure point or bung kai counters, and get them in a decent submission...
Then again..I have had a bit of colored training...

Perhaps when I finish The Art of War we could discuss various topics, Hazard.  If you liked that, you'd -love- Hagakure.  It's truly an excellent book.  The Bushido Code is truly amazing.

Cheers.
December 11, 2004, 10:47 PM
peofeoknight
<.<
>.>

I read the good earth one time.  :-X
December 11, 2004, 11:06 PM
DrivE
[quote author=cefx- link=topic=9862.msg91970#msg91970 date=1102805239]
Although, I must ask of you: In the higher belts of Tae kwon do, were you trained in much hand strikes, grappling or take down?[/quote]