Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Assembly Language (any cpu) | z80 cpu assembly commands

AuthorMessageTime
Atom
This isnt actually for programming in assembly at all. I want to write an emulator for this CPU and i have little experience in ASM. DONT SHOOT ME! I know I should have the experience but I figure I would learn the ASM as I go through it.
[url]http://www.zophar.net/tech/files/z80opcod.txt[/url]
Is a good list of opcodes for the cpu and their mnemonics, but I don't know what each does exactly. I am pretty sure I have a pretty good of how everything works with register sand addresses but I don't know what each opcode does.

I am not asking for someone to go through the list of opcodes and and type in what each does, I want some general help. Also a link to a good guide which i imagine is out there seeing as how I have seen some of the same mnemonics for other cpu's.

Why are there 30 opcodes for almost the same mnemonic?

Someone could start off by explaining this statement to me.

LD (BC),A

Im assuming LD is the actual opcode, and BC is a byte and A is an address, but i have no idea!
December 2, 2004, 5:23 PM
Myndfyr
The same site where you got that has some nice things, including a ZIP file with a Word document about fourth from the top:
http://www.zophar.net/tech/z80.html

If you're not familiar with assembly, the reason for having 30 different opcodes varies.  Generally speaking, they are there for different memory addressing modes, or for different register placement.
December 2, 2004, 5:46 PM
iago
[quote author=Atom link=topic=9750.msg90805#msg90805 date=1102008185]
This isnt actually for programming in assembly at all. I want to write an emulator for this CPU and i have little experience in ASM. DONT SHOOT ME! [/quote]

On a sidenote, I was involved in hiring students for the next work term at my job.  Two of them mentioned "z80" assembly on their resumes, which intrigued me.  It's something that stands out, since not many people know about it.