Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Assembly Language (any cpu) | Read-protected memory--how to deal with it?

AuthorMessageTime
Stwong
So I'm attempting to "debug" Starcraft.  You all know what I mean ;)

Apparantly, it has certain blocks of read-protected memory that I can't really read.  I don't know much about the protection and stuff, but I'm an administrator and can't search it with tsearch, or windbg--even if windbg is the process that created the SC process.

Is there some kind of easy technique to unprotect it that I don't know of, or is there nothing I can do? (Other than install softICE)

edit:  Windows 2000 has this problem, any searches on Windows 98 conveniently seem to work.  Also, there ARE specific areas of memory that are protected each time.

When talking to iago about this problem a few months ago, he seemed to imply that his XP installation experienced the problem, and something randomly fixed the problem.

Next issue: I'm talking about specific areas of the memory, not an entire process's memory.  I can find the unit structures, but not the structures loaded from the .bin files--even when I know exactly how to find them from experiences on Win98.

I'm not sure if SoftICE would work, being a kernel level debugger, but if I remember correctly, there's no real ways to do progressive searches in it, or uncertain searches, so getting it working with TSearch would be the best solution--eg, with any old memory searcher.

Installing Win98 is an option, of course, but it would be much preferred to be able to find a decent solution under Win2k.

I have a feeling that whatever memory allocation functions Windows uses could be breakpointed, modified to remove the read-protection or whatever it is, which would be a solution.  Anyone have any leads on this?  (I, as of yet, have yet to see an alloc() / malloc() fxn in Windows...)