Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Battle.net Bot Development | Help with irc/bnet bot idea (total noob)

AuthorMessageTime
murphybob
Hi, I am completely new here and to be honest i am struggling to understand all this stuff ;)

I am trying to write a bot that sits in a channel and passes everything said to an IRC channel. But i don't think i can manage to write a whole bot from scratch so what i am really looking for is some framework that does the connection bits for me and then just sends my program/plugin a copy of what is said so i can deal with it. My primary language is perl so a perl bot that i could re-engineer would be perfect. If anyone knows of one I would love a link. Failing what would people suggest as the best way to go?

Thanks for your help, (sorry if this wasn't the right place to post this btw)

-murphybob
August 26, 2004, 10:56 AM
iago
I have a console bot written in Java. I tend to redirect stdout to a file, but it can be piped into an irc program if you wanted to go that way. A link to the bot can be found at http://javaop.clan-e1.net.
August 26, 2004, 12:15 PM
Myndfyr
I have a bot written in C#, with a robust plugin system (the new plugin system is not available, but it's better ;)) that you can use to do what you describe. Link at http://www.armabot.net.
August 26, 2004, 1:21 PM
murphybob
Brilliant thanks! I'll look at both of those, try them, and see what I have most success with. :)

-murphybob
August 26, 2004, 5:54 PM
murphybob
Thanks again guys, I am using the java one (it was the first I tried and seems to work well) and I am having success. Unidirectional communication, ie piping the channel straight to irc was easy, I am now grappling with bi-directional ie piping irc onto bnet, which is proving a bit of a bitch, however i think i can beat it somehow :D

Thx!

-murphybob
August 27, 2004, 1:34 PM
iago
[quote author=murphybob link=board=17;threadid=8376;start=0#msg77606 date=1093613641]