Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Battle.net Bot Development | Chat? Binary? Huh?

AuthorMessageTime
Antichrist
Alright, I'm a newbie to bot programming.. actually, I'm pretty much a newbie in THE programming environment. I'd like to ask, when people refeer to "Chat" bot, what's that.. the same goes for "Binary" bot. My theory is a chat bot connects but just logs onto Spawn or w/e and can only be in a public channel, and Binary is multi-client/private channel abled. If I'm anything near the correct definitions, yay! If not, yet again: I'm a newbie. Thanks.
August 17, 2004, 2:06 AM
ChR0NiC
[quote author=Antichrist link=board=17;threadid=8189;start=0#msg75834 date=1092708388]
Alright, I'm a newbie to bot programming.. actually, I'm pretty much a newbie in THE programming environment. I'd like to ask, when people refeer to "Chat" bot, what's that.. the same goes for "Binary" bot. My theory is a chat bot connects but just logs onto Spawn or w/e and can only be in a public channel, and Binary is multi-client/private channel abled. If I'm anything near the correct definitions, yay! If not, yet again: I'm a newbie. Thanks.
[/quote]

Well you are pretty correct, a Chat connection does not require a cd key and is only allowed in public channels, and it connects differently, binary connections require cdkeys and must go through a much more difficult connection process compared to chat. But if you are here to learn don't forget to check out the Battle.net Reference part of the forum :)
August 17, 2004, 2:08 AM
Antichrist
[quote author=ChR0NiC link=board=17;threadid=8189;start=0#msg75835 date=1092708505]

Well you are pretty correct,
[/quote]

Awesome.

[quote author=ChR0NiC link=board=17;threadid=8189;start=0#msg75835 date=1092708505]
But if you are here to learn don't forget to check out the Battle.net Reference part of the forum :)
[/quote]

Thank you, I wasn't aware there was a Battle.net Reference part of the forum. :-[ :D
August 17, 2004, 2:16 AM
ChR0NiC