Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Battle.net Bot Development | packet DWORDS [solved]

AuthorMessageTime
z-stars
I'm making a packet builder for a bot in C++ and I wanna make a function that takes a DWORD (unsigned long) and puts it into a 4 bytes array. For example, if the DWORD's value was 10, the bytes array would have to be {0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x0A}. The problem is that I dunno how to do that. Thx in advance for ur help.
(PS: I know that the dwords of a packet are in LittleEndian order but the order can be shifted later I think?)
July 21, 2004, 6:29 PM
shadypalm88
Take this advice with a grain of salt; I'm pretty new to C++ and am also writing a C++ packet buffer atm. However I did create a working buffer in Java and I'm basically porting it to C++. Basically you need to extract the relevant byte from the long and cast it onto a char. So if you have a char array named buffer, a variable called buflen keeping track of the length, and a variable called DWord containing the unsigned long, this code should work:

[code]buffer[buflen++] = (char) (DWord & 0x000000FF);
buffer[buflen++] = (char) ((DWord & 0x0000FF00) >> 8);
buffer[buflen++] = (char) ((DWord & 0x00FF0000) >> 16);
buffer[buflen++] = (char) ((DWord & 0xFF000000) >> 24);[/code]
As I used another buffer (don't remember where I got it) as a reference to create my Java buffer, my assumptions might not be correct. The bitmask being AND'd with the DWORD preserves the byte you are currently interested in while setting the others to 0. The shifts move the byte you want to the point where the cast to a char will catch it. It's not a very good explanation; someone please correct me where I'm wrong
July 21, 2004, 6:51 PM
Kp