Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Visual Basic Programming | Trade Hack Possibility - Diablo II closed realm

AuthorMessageTime
BlackLotus
My idea works like this :

1) log a trade session to get the Check Box packet format

2) get the traders ip, posibly netstat or tracert

3) Build a Check Box Packet spoofed to their IP

4) success?

I'm new to the diablo programming genre, feedback rather than flaming much appreciated.
July 20, 2004, 1:59 AM
Grok
Hi, welcome to vL forums.

Good start on your thinking. However, a few things you don't know about D2 realms will prevent that from working. #1, the game is not peer-to-peer, so you never know anyone else's IP. #2, the nature of TCP is that you will not be able to spoof a packet from them to the realm server.
July 20, 2004, 2:47 AM
UserLoser.
[quote author=Grok link=board=31;threadid=7772;start=0#msg71426 date=1090291635]

Good start on your thinking. However, a few things you don't know about D2 realms will prevent that from working. #1, the game is not peer-to-peer, so you never know anyone else's IP. #2, the nature of TCP is that you will not be able to spoof a packet from them to the realm server.
[/quote]

[s]D2 realms[/s]
D2 game servers
;)
July 20, 2004, 2:50 AM
BlackLotus
aww shucks! there goes that idea :-) Ty for the feedback though.

If I can't spoof their IP, what about tricking their computer into sendign it? It sounds impossible... I've experimented with buffer overflows and other methods of control, but to no avail. I was thinking that it might be possible to send the server a packet that contains the item code and properties, but not actually put the item up there. So that the item apears to them but they push it and... well... either they'd get it and ud lose nothing... ud be ip banned... or somethign really bad or really good... :-) Any ideas?
July 20, 2004, 2:57 AM
UserLoser.
[quote author=BlackLotus link=board=31;threadid=7772;start=0#msg71431 date=1090292254]