Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Discussion | Given the choice, would you study Computer Math?

AuthorMessageTime
Yoni
During a discussion I had with Nate, he brought up the point that Computer Science should be renamed to Computer Math.

THIS IS SUCH AN AWESOME IDEA.

Computer Science, in essence, is a branch of mathematics and everyone knows that (if you disagree, make your reply in the Trash Can please).

However, there is a large group of dumbasses thinking "I like computers, computers are cool. I think I'll study computers in college." In college, they will see a "Computer Science" class, think "this must be that class where they play with computers", and enroll. Some of them drop out. Here is what happens with those who don't.

Sooner or later, they receive their degree. "I have a degree in computers, I bet I'll be able to get a job in programming easily." The truth is, you are still an idiot, and a degree with your name on it won't change that fact. You will get the job, do it badly, and make another group of smart people justly pissed off at you.

THINK OF THE ALTERNATIVE.

Back to the beginning of the story.
"I like computers, computers are cool. I think I'll study computers in college." In college, they will now see a "Computer Math" class. "Ack! I don't like math :( This is not a good class. Where is the Programming class? Oh well, I'll just sign up for Business Management."

A distant cheer is audible.
June 17, 2004, 8:36 PM
hismajesty
Computer Science is listed under the Math section at my school so there's no confusion. :)
June 17, 2004, 9:19 PM
LW-Falcon
[quote author=Yoni link=board=2;threadid=7300;start=0#msg65700 date=1087504593]
"I like computers, computers are cool. I think I'll study computers in college." In college, they will now see a "Computer Math" class. "Ack! I don't like math :( This is not a good class. Where is the Programming class?
[/quote]
They teach C++ in Computer Science at my school.
June 17, 2004, 10:31 PM
Raihan