Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Battle.net Bot Development | Editing a bot source code.

AuthorMessageTime
idoL
Yeah, i'm a complete newb when it comes to making bots - i'd like to know how I open a bot source code and fool around with it and save the changes so I could see what I did, i'd like to do this so I can learn, not steal people's work.
Also, i'd like to know how to go about taking a basic bot script and adding to it to personalize it and save the changes and actually use it? Thanks in advanced!
May 11, 2004, 12:13 AM
Eli_1
[quote author=idoL link=board=17;threadid=6743;start=0#msg59436 date=1084234398]
Yeah, i'm a complete newb when it comes to making bots - i'd like to know how I open a bot source code and fool around with it. . .[/quote]
mmm, I usually use the double-clicking/typing method.

[quote]. . .and save the changes so I could see what I did. . .[/quote]
I like to use the File->Save method, but when I'm feeling a little sexy, I utilize the CTRL+S feature.

[quote]. . .i'd like to do this so I can learn, not steal people's work.[/quote]
I suggest you take a different path to learning, such as reading books, learning the language, trial and error ect...

[quote]
Also, i'd like to know how to go about taking a basic bot script and adding to it to personalize it and save the changes and actually use it? Thanks in advanced!
[/quote]
See answers 1-2.

From reading all of your post, I'm between these two conclusions:

1.) You don't actually have bot source code/compiler and what you actually want to do is hex edit a previously created bot.
a.) www.hexworkshop.com

2.) You have absolutely zero programming experience and should probably attempt learning the language before taking on a bot project -- whether it be open source or not.
a.) www.planetsourcecode.com
b.) www.google.com
c.) Your local book store