Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Battle.net Bot Development | see if ive got this right...

AuthorMessageTime
gotcha_ass
Ok wen I log packets they look like this:

FF 51 32 34 etc.

but in actuallity its this:

FF513234

right? ok then can I use this code to extract the PacketID, Length, and Data from a packet??

[code]
'im leaving some declerations out for sake of space

PacketID = Mid(packet, 3, 2)
PacketLen = Mid(packet, 4, 4)
PacketData = Mid(packet, 9, PacketLen)
[/code]

I have a feeling this is wrong but its my first try at making my own code.
January 29, 2003, 6:47 PM
iago
FF 51 32 34
that's 4 bytes, a byte is 2 hex characters

ID = 51, which is mid(String, 2, 1)
Length = &h3432, I'm not sure how to extract that in VB, makeword() or something..
and that data is everything else, mid(String, 5, Length) or mid(String, 5, &h3432) in this case
January 29, 2003, 8:44 PM
gotcha_ass
ohh ok I gotcha

do you add the 2bytes that make the length or jus put them together??

I found this code to get the PacketID
[code]
PacketID = Asc(Mid(Data, 2, 1))
[/code]

But why do they use the Asc, whis returns the ANSI character code of the 1st letter in the string??
January 29, 2003, 10:07 PM
MesiaH
iago, it would be simple to extract it, by using mid

PacketLength = "&h" & mid(packet, 3, 2)

somethin like that should make a simple dword, since data is not received in hex!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

those spaces your packet loggers show you, are not there!
January 30, 2003, 12:56 AM
Arta
Gotcha: