Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Battle.net Bot Development | Learning VB

AuthorMessageTime
Jay
Ok, I am just learning how to program. If anyone can tell me like the first couple of steps to making a bot they will be appreciated. ::)
February 2, 2003, 12:30 PM
Zakath
Why, oh why, does everyone insist on running before they know how to walk?
February 2, 2003, 1:48 PM
tA-Kane |@Dad's PC
or standing for that matter...
February 2, 2003, 3:49 PM
n00blar
Zakath, quit being a big flame head =) I think that bots are quite easy and if you implement a wide variety of features it can hit on some things that he will need to know later + help him with the syntax, however you would need to be a talented person and one who picks up on things quick...
February 2, 2003, 4:09 PM
Zakath
Sure, bots are easy once you've made one already. But the first time through it's a ton of new things to be learning at once - some of which will be extremely tough to grasp since the 'programmer' has no idea why what he/she is doing works - or how to extend on it (which leads to all the silly questions from people who have a working binary connection but don't know how to change the background color of a dialog).
February 2, 2003, 5:07 PM
Jay
So, can anyone help me?  ;D
February 2, 2003, 6:19 PM
St0rm.iD
www.python.org
February 2, 2003, 10:19 PM
tA-Kane
[quote]but don't know how to change the background color of a dialog[/quote]

wtf you can change that??

:P
February 2, 2003, 11:15 PM
MesiaH
Why doesnt grok or somebody just make a seperate thread for New Programmers, to decrease the amount of "i was wondering how to make a bot" messages in the botdev. section, cause theyres already 300 of them.
February 3, 2003, 11:36 PM
Arta
I was going to write an FAQ for exactly that purpose but I realised it'd only have one question on it, so I didn't bother ::)
February 5, 2003, 7:22 AM
Grok