Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | C/C++ Programming | Learning C++ Over VB

AuthorMessageTime
Rock
I started learning VB a while ago and I heard in many forums how learning VB is worthless and C++ is ten times better. That's why I figure imma probably take a beginner C++ class in some college and then take the advanced C++ classes. Hopefully the ppl here know what they're talking bout.
March 4, 2004, 3:10 PM
Mephisto
That's true depending on what you plan to do with programming, both as to what you want to make, and if you plan to take programming to a career level.

As for programming "stuff" you can keep some of these things in mind.
These is for Visual Basic +'s
- fast GUI application development
- overall faster to develop an application, and easier
- good for development where you need a good functioning application in a day or two which is user friendly

These are +'s for C/C++:
- flexibility
- more APIs to work with (e.g. winsock, win32 api, etc.)
- generally faster and more efficient executables
- full support of object oriented programming and use of pointers
- top software/game development language (this may not be completely accurate)
- people are constantly writing new libraries for C++ to make it easier for you (this may be true for VB)
- supported on different platforms providing you recompile the source code for that platform (you can't compile on windows and use on linux, you would have to compile on linux and then use it on linux)
- blunt, but more than likely true: best language to learn for multi-purpose use

I hope that helps you decide on that subject, and as for taking it to the career level: