Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Battle.net Bot Development | Setting Bot Users - Method

AuthorMessageTime
Mephisto
I'm new to this whole bot development thing, and I have recently finished coding the necessary code to connect to Battle.net and receive/parse chat events. Now I am moving on to writing the database, and I am wondering how to do this. How do I represent a user? I was thinking of just having the bot read from a database file and get the username and their flags. That brings me to my next question, how should I represent flags? I was thinking of writing a class for each flag, and in that class write each of the commands as a function. But then I get to the point of how do I add a flag (class) to that username, and limit access to other flags (classes)? I havn't put much thought into it, but I will be thinking of ideas as I get feedback from those who can assist in this.

Keep in mind, this is being written in C++.
March 4, 2004, 1:23 AM
Null
For someone who knows 10 or so language's Fluently this should be an easy task..
March 4, 2004, 1:25 AM
Mephisto
You guys are fast.

I never said I knew 10 languages, let alone knew them fluently.

Additionally, I said in the post I havn't put much thought into it, I'm already applying some ideas. This is just to get some feedback on experienced people in doing this, so I don't go implement a system which would be otherwise infurior to other methods which can be used.

Edit: Well, I suppose it's 10 if you count English. But I still stand by the fact I never said I knew them fluently.
March 4, 2004, 1:27 AM
LoRd
Go to the C/C++ programming forum.
March 4, 2004, 2:08 AM
Mephisto
If this was C/C++ specific, I think someone would have moved it by now.

Additionally, you don't necessarily have to know C++ to help me out with this.
March 4, 2004, 2:43 AM
Zakath