Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Assembly Language (any cpu) | Assembly early on?

AuthorMessageTime
Master Of Puppets
I know a little bit of VB and C++. But should i focus on really understanding C++ thoroughly, or would it be safe/a good thing for me to start learning assembly? I have no knowledge of assembly at this moment, but I seen the new operating system that fits on a floppy disc that was made with assembly which is called MinuetOS or something it really sparked a lot of interest.
February 14, 2004, 2:07 AM
iago
I wouldn't recommend it, but if you think you can then all the power to you... :)
February 14, 2004, 6:23 AM
Raven
Assembly more or less depends on one's ability to solve problems using sequences of code. Most people wait until they've learned atleast the basic commands and strategies involved with C++ and VB before they move on to Assembly just because at that point, they'll have a more solid base and mastery of programming techniques and problemsolving. As iago said, it wouldn't be recommended to dive into assembly before you have a strong understanding of C++, but ofcourse, I believe it could be done. It's just a matter of having a mind capable of solving complex problems. Learning assembly terminology shouldn't be as difficult as learning when and how to implement it to accomplish your individual goals. Goodluck with all that. :)
February 17, 2004, 3:35 PM
tA-Kane
I learned to read PPC assembly while I was learning C/C++ simply because I wanted to be able to find exactly where bugs in my programs were, and my debugger allows for me to display the code as both Asm and source code, which is really nice. It allows me to see just exactly what instructions are generated for what lines of source code.

I was successful in making a simple event loop which quits the program when the user clicks the mouse, in Asm.