Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Discussion | Linux talk and help

AuthorMessageTime
jigsaw
I installed slack 9.1 - I am new to the linux environment, I am lost when it comes to setting up this damn box on my LAN and being able to obtain internet access on it. I cant find too many docs on it. Please list web references or ideas here, tanks!
January 28, 2004, 9:24 AM
jigsaw
Fixed it myself, a little netconfig always helps. Anyhow on to step two, linux ins-and-outs. I am a newbie I suppose when it comes to linux, any good references re appreciated. Perhaps a means of chatting on battle.net would be nice, and linux bots out there?
January 28, 2004, 10:21 AM
joykillah
first off if your just learning i don't advise you use slackware.

i put fedora core on my ftp for you
January 28, 2004, 2:55 PM
iago
[quote author=joykillah link=board=2;threadid=4968;start=0#msg41477 date=1075301740]
first off if your just learning i don't advise you use slackware.

i put fedora core on my ftp for you
[/quote]

I'm just learning and using Slackware, and I think it's great. If I ever use a different version of Linux, it will always be easier. This way, you learn to do things the right way, not the easy way :)
January 28, 2004, 3:03 PM
jigsaw
slack 9 is great. im sticking. whats a trillian like program for linux that i can dl
January 29, 2004, 4:22 AM
DVX
i thought gentoo was pretty hard and if u know gentoo u pretty much know linux :p
January 29, 2004, 6:09 AM
Orillion
I use gaim for AIM MSN and ICQ.
January 29, 2004, 10:04 AM
Thing
You may want to try Kopete for IM: http://kopete.kde.org/
As I stated in another post, DMBot runs well under Wine: http://dmbot.valhallalegends.com/
A good starting place for general help is: http://www.linuxhelp.net

I would also suggest that you don't marry the first distro you try. Try out as many as you can and compare features, etc.

[me=Thing] makes a prediction ...
Suse will emerge as the leader in Linux desktops.[/me]