Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | C/C++ Programming | [C++] I need tips on my code

AuthorMessageTime
Siege
Hi and Merry Christmas all :)
I did a small console app in C++ and I want to know what I could do to improve my code. What it basically does is it ask you to choose from addition, multiplication or exit and I bet you can figure it out from what it does from looking at my code. By the way I just started learning C++ so my code will probably and most likely suck. So here it is!
[code]#include <iostream>

int main()
{
int input,add(),multiply(),input4; //variables and functions
cout << "Please choose one of the options below by typing the number\n";
cout << "1 add\n";
cout << "2 multiply\n";
cout << "3 Exit\n";
cin >> input;

switch (input)
{
case 1:
add();
break;
case 2:
multiply();
break;
case 3:
return 0; //exit
default:
cout << "Input Error\n";
cin >> input4;
cin.get();
}
return 0;
}

int add() //my add function
{
int input1,input2,answer,number; //variables
cout << "You chose Addition!\n";
cout << " Please type one number: ";
cin >> input1;
cout << " Please type another number: ";
cin >> input2;
answer = input1 + input2;
cout << " The answer is " << answer << endl;
cout << " Press any number to exit.\n";
cin >> number;
cin.get();
}

int multiply() //My multiplication function
{
int input1,input2,answer,number; //variables
cout << "You chose Multiplication!\n";
cout << " Please type one number: ";
cin >> input1;
cout << " Please type another number: ";
cin >> input2;
answer = input1 * input2;
cout << " The answer is " << answer << endl;
cout << " Press any number to exit.\n";
cin >> number;
cin.get();
}
[/code]

Any tips appreciated!

[Edit: Fixed tabbing as much as I could.]
December 26, 2003, 1:13 AM
MrRaza
Fix the indenting, aswell, what if I want to add/multiply more than two numbers at once?
December 26, 2003, 1:26 AM
Kp
Don't use cin. The way you're using it, it reacts very badly to non-numeric input iirc.
December 26, 2003, 6:03 AM
MrRaza