Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Battle.net Bot Development | New to this - eager to learn

AuthorMessageTime
Zyroth
Hi Guys,

I am completely new to anything that's about Network Communication. Here's what I've done:

- PHP Scripting
- Delphi Low Level Applications
- Computer Science in my final exams... so I know basics like Recursion, Sort Algorithm, Micro Programming, Data Structures, etc.

Here's what I want to do:

Write a Battle.Net Bot in Python with help of the "Twisted Matrix" which is able to run on my clan's dedicated Debian Server and is able to do the following:

- Moderate/Operate the Channel "clan xxx" (BG3 can do this, so can I =) )
- Transfer Chat from Battle.net to IRC and back

I am completely aware of the fact, that this might be the work of half a year, but I am eager to learn. ;)

Anyone has got an advice, where and how I can start? I read through some of the documents at the Bot-Dev Site, but did not find something like a "Hello World" Tutorial...

Thx, Zyr
December 22, 2003, 1:15 PM
Spht
[quote author=Zyroth link=board=17;threadid=4394;start=0#msg36737 date=1072098906]
I read through some of the documents at the Bot-Dev Site, but did not find something like a "Hello World" Tutorial...
[/quote]

The bot development web site wasn't meant to be a walk-through on how to write a bot. It's an archive of resources from the old bot development forums which would be useful for developers.
December 22, 2003, 3:31 PM
Grok
[quote author=Zyroth link=board=17;threadid=4394;start=0#msg36737 date=1072098906]Anyone has got an advice, where and how I can start? I read through some of the documents at the Bot-Dev Site, but did not find something like a "Hello World" Tutorial...

Thx, Zyr
[/quote]

A long time ago (~3 years), I posted a series of articles on how to write a VB Chat bot. It was effectively a "Hello, World" for bots that got you up and running. I believe BnetDocs or the BotDev site might have a link to that forum article.