Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Assembly Language (any cpu) | 68k (680x0) sucks

AuthorMessageTime
iago
There, I said it.  

I write my homework in x86 then convert it! grrr@learning outdated archetectures (I'm so mad I can't even spell it! :))
February 10, 2003, 8:50 PM
Adron
It doesn't really suck. It's a much nicer architecture to learn than ix86. It just suffers from ibm pc getting popular. Besides, as far as I know, x86 assembler has a very small share of todays total assembler instruction sets.
February 10, 2003, 8:56 PM
Grok
As I understand it, a significant emphases of the design of the motorola 68000 was for programmers.
February 10, 2003, 9:25 PM
iago
Ok, it doesn't suck then.  It's just a pain to have to learn if after knowing something that's more difficult.  Although "blt" is must better than the x86 equivolant because it makes me think of a sandwich, and "bra" is the best instruction in any set by far :)
February 10, 2003, 10:08 PM
KaSiaL
LOL, I'm a student of Authomation & Robotics at the Silesian Technical University in Poland. Last year on the Microprocessor Techniques classes we programming 68k-s, too. ;D We were also messing with i805x, AT91x, Analog-Digital Converters, serial port communication and bunch more.
February 19, 2003, 10:16 PM
Grok
YES!!  Now we have a pole to make fun of   :P
February 19, 2003, 10:31 PM
Etheran
grrr, everybody has these interesting classes but me.. I'm stuck with CIS-1A (introduction to computers)!!!!
They made me take it, btw.
February 20, 2003, 3:54 PM
Yoni
Err, is that introduction to computers, or introduction to computer science?
February 20, 2003, 4:15 PM
Grok
[quote]grrr, everybody has these interesting classes but me.. I'm stuck with CIS-1A (introduction to computers)!!!!
They made me take it, btw.[/quote]