Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Programming | A few questions

AuthorMessageTime
Death_Ryder
Hello all.  I've heard about your clan, and greatly respect your work.  I've been looking into some stuff regarding Diablo II, and figured that since many of you are the top in hacking it, (from what I've heard) I should ask you.

What I'm looking for is any and all information you guys might have on anything that could even have the slightest probability of affecting a drop.

And, a small question. Would you be able to better affect some drops by knowing the exact ids of item that are going to drop, beforehand (not the items themselves, just the IDs)?

In addition, I was looking for any information anyone might have regarding the way the server balances loads, and processes incoming and outgoing messages.

Thanks in advance guys.  I know I'm still a newbie  ;D, but, I'd like to try to improve.

~Death_Ryder
December 6, 2002, 7:32 PM
UserLoser
I'm dont think this will answer your questions, but a good source of information about D2 packets would be in the D2HackIt! source code.  It's been a while since I've looked at it, but I believe there is a lot in there about packets sent in game and out of game, like I said this probably isn't answering your question, but it might help you.
December 6, 2002, 8:26 PM
Death_Ryder
You're right, it really doesn't. . .I've been working with packets for awhile now, so I feel pretty comfortable with them.  Heck, a friend of mine dissembled the open bnet packet handling code, and provided a list of every sent packet and its format.  

In other words, I'm looking to get deeper than just the "party tricks" of DII, if you know what I mean. ;)

~Death_Ryder
December 6, 2002, 9:42 PM
Noodlez
um, open bnet and closed bnet are the same thing except for the fact that YOU host the computer and not bnet
December 6, 2002, 11:15 PM
Death_Ryder