Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Battle.net Bot Development | Hi Im New...

AuthorMessageTime
Jaquio
Hi im new to all this bot making i wanted to make a bot for my clan and i was wondering if there are any tutorials out there to help me. i am a quick leaner and can laern most difficult things.
November 10, 2003, 2:22 PM
iago
What do you know already? It would be helpful to know where you're starting from.
November 10, 2003, 3:54 PM
Eternal
+1 to Iago for not losing his patience or flaming.
November 10, 2003, 4:07 PM
Myndfyr
[quote author=Eternal link=board=17;threadid=3524;start=0#msg28504 date=1068480428]
+1 to Iago for not losing his patience or flaming.
[/quote]

Aye, that was great!

In re: to Jaquio, as Iago said, what do you know already? If you're familiar with a programming language, you might want to look into its implementation of Windows Sockets (or if you're not programming the bot for Windows, any sockets connection). For example, Visual Basic 6 uses the WinSock OCX control, whereas C++ uses the Windows Sockets API as well as the straight-up send() and recv() functions. The .NET framework uses the System.Net.Sockets namespace.

If you're not familiar with programming, take a look at the Computer Science Classes forum. You need to be familiar with at least one programming language before beginning, otherwise you will get severely flamed on this forum by people who really don't want to rehash the same answer 200 times.

If you know general Visual Basic 6 programming, you might want to look into CupHead's CleanSlateBot OCX control (IIRC, it's at http://www.valhallalegends.com/cuphead/ ). I've never used it, but as I understand it's quite good, and helps even the newbiest of newbs make a bot.

Good luck. =)

--Rob
November 10, 2003, 6:14 PM
CupHead
http://cuphead.valhallalegends.com/tutorials/lesson1.htm

It's a decent start. You might try the thread that involved these tutorials as well.
November 10, 2003, 6:41 PM
iago