Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Visual Basic Programming | Beginner help!

AuthorMessageTime
Goblin
hey guys,
im completely new to all this programming stuff(with visual basic) and it would be GREAT if you could send me some beginner tips and guidelines. ive taken computer science in school but they only taught me Turing and it sucked. So i just wanna forget about all that turing bull and learn how to use a better programming tool such as VB6 or c++.
I am especially interested in learning how to make bnet bots, so if u could help me out with that i would be extremely thankful!
goblin
October 30, 2003, 2:55 PM
Eternal
[me=Eternal]notices the viewing count for this post but lack of replies :o[/me]

Goblin, perhaps the best form of advice you could get for a general programming issue like this is to get a book, try some of the online tutorials and certainly don't start with trying to program/understand how bnet bots work. If you have specific programming questions along the way, there are plenty of people on this forum to help.

Start with some tutorials on the basics and learn all the ingredients needed that would perhaps go into a more advance program, such as coding a bot.

Hope it helps, and good luck.

[EDIT: One last thing, VB6 is easier to pick up if you have no programming experience, but the more experienced programmers here try to avoid it and prefer other languages such as C++ - learn to walk first before you run]
October 30, 2003, 5:15 PM
Goblin
At the moment, im looking around for books already, but as for online tutorials, i cant find any good ones that'll help me.
if you know of a good site, it would be great if you could tell me.
thanks!
goblin
October 30, 2003, 8:07 PM
DarkVirus