Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Battle.net Bot Development | a type of bnet bot no one's mentioned (AFAIK)

AuthorMessageTime
MrMachineCode
You might remember from my other posting I'm looking to make a bnet bot that will connect my AI program to battlenet. AI is my forte; I have no experience with socket or network programming, and it is only because I work as a network administrator that I have a vague understanding of the discussions about packets and packet logging for the binary interface. (Because I work with network hardware, not network programming.) Furthermore, I'm just lazy, ok? I don't want to have to learn to work with packets when I'm still busy programming my AI.

I still need a way to connect my AI program to bnet, but I am not so brazen as to ask someone to give me that solution on a silver platter. But, wait, I already have that solution on a silver platter.

Why should I try to make a program to connect to the bnet binary interface, when blizzard has already made a dozen programs FOR me that do it?

I'm talking, of course, about the games themselves. For instance, I have Diablo 1, which is all I'm actually interested in connecting as anyway. WHY NOT USE THE DIABLO 1 EXE ITSELF AS MY AI'S CHAT CLIENT???

Madness you say? Not at all. Diablo has to call certain Windows functions to get it's user input from the keyboard and mouse, and it has to call other functions to display text. If I hack my keyboard and video drivers, load a wedge between the drivers and the diablo.exe that can send data from my AI to Diablo so that Diablo thinks it's coming from the keyboard, and can intercept Diablo sending chat text to the screen, I can use diablo.exe like a massive, bloated, clunky chat interface.

Windows provides a function called *system hooks* that lets you do things like this. It's how key-loggers work and how some drivers probably work.