Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Discussion | Bad troubles with fathers computer.

AuthorMessageTime
Crypticflare
My father runs a basic dell he bought for about 500$ a few months ago, last week he got virus'd or something (not quite sure I was out of town) and his OS failed to load. We reformatted it with the service pack disc DELL includes. Since the format, his sound doesn't work tho it says the drivers are installed and working fine, he can't connect to the router (DHCP?) and I did a ipconfig/all command and theres no listing of any numbers whatsoever. I popped in a music disk to check the problems, and when media player opens up says theres no hardware installed, even on the BIOS flash it reads no keyboard present, yet it still functions. This is just the start of it, I was wondering if anyone had suggestions, also on the format it gives you the options of a NTFS format or FAT32 which option would be the beneficiary? I'm pretty new to this stuff so before I hire someone for 120$/hour I'd like to hear some options. Thanks a bunch
September 25, 2003, 1:17 AM
Adron
Check the hardware in the control panel. See if it's listed with question marks.

Format with NTFS unless you want to use DOS boot disks.
September 25, 2003, 6:46 PM
Yoni
Sounds like several problems:

1. Sound doesn't work.
Almost definitely a driver issue. Perhaps the "service pack disc" from Dell has installed the wrong drivers. You can probably get the right sound drivers from dell.com if you know the exact model(?) of the computer.

2. Network doesn't work.
There could be a few reasons for this:
- Wrong/not present NIC driver? Again, you can probably get this from Dell.com, or from wherever if you know exactly what NIC it is. Most regular (10/100, PCI) NICs should be picked up fine by Windows, so that probably isn't the problem.