Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Programming | Java Help :(

AuthorMessageTime
WinSocks
I been working on a project and i'm new to Java 2.0 programming.... i have to make a application that asks for the user to input 3 intigers and then the application will calculate the sum, product, average and the Largest/Smallest integer from the three...

i got everythign but the damn smallest/largest method....

[code]
import javax.swing.JOptionPane;

public class threeint {

public static void main( String args[] )
   {
       String firstNumber;
       String secondNumber;
       String thirdNumber;
       String Result;
       int num1;
       int num2;
       int num3;
       int Sum;
       int Average;
       int Product;

firstNumber = JOptionPane.showInputDialog( "Enter frist integer:" );
       secondNumber = JOptionPane.showInputDialog( "Enter second integer:" );
       thirdNumber = JOptionPane.showInputDialog( "Enter frist integer:" );

num1 = Integer.parseInt( firstNumber );
       num2 = Integer.parseInt( secondNumber );
       num3 = Integer.parseInt( thirdNumber );

Sum = num1 + num2 + num3;
       Product = num1 * num2 * num3;
       Average = Sum / 3;

Result = "";

if ( num1 < num2 )
           Result = Result + "\n" + num1 + " < " + num2;
       if ( num1 > num2 )
           Result = Result + "\n" + num1 + " > " + num2;

JOptionPane.showMessageDialog( null, "The Sum: " + Sum + "\nThe Average: " + Average + "\nThe Product:" + Product + "\nThe Largest/Smallest Integer: " + Result, "Integer Excercise", JOptionPane.INFORMATION_MESSAGE );

System.exit( 0 );
   }
}
[/code]

i been trying to figure out how to get the application or find the code for a if statement that takes all 3 integers and calculates what is the largest and smallest.

has to do with the code:
[code]
if ( num1 < num2 )
  Result = Result + "\n" + num1 + " < " + num2;
if ( num1 > num2 )
  Result = Result + "\n" + num1 + " > " + num2;
[/code]

any help will be appreciated..