Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | C/C++ Programming | Well...Don't be to hard on me.

AuthorMessageTime
Bob
This is going to make me look really newb, but I really don't know anything about programming and I want to learn C++. Not to make bots or whatever, but b/c I want to learn, I want to be good at it. But I have a question I am just starting out and in the Hello world program as I am sure that all of you have seen at least once...

#include <iostream.h>

int main()
{
cout << "Hello World! " << endl;

return 0;

}
What would be the difference between using int main() or void main()? Would it change the way the program works, Can someone please explain it? Btw, Yes I know I am a newb, but we all have to learn some time.
August 10, 2003, 6:09 PM
Eibro
Assuming your compile compiles void main(), no, it wouldn't change how the program works. However, some compilers won't compile void main() because it's non-standard. main() returns and int, that's just how it is. If you see otherwise (books, internet, etc.) just remember that it's wrong.
August 10, 2003, 6:19 PM
Bob
Thank you very much.
August 10, 2003, 6:23 PM
K
just as a good habit, you should use #include <iostream> instead of #include <iostream.h>.

if you try using iostream.h on newer compilers you will get a warning that it's depreciated, or it won't even be found. The difference is that the iostream header defines everything inside the std namespace. So your code would look like this:

[code]
#include <iostream>

using std::cout; // this means you can type cout in your program
// instead of std::cout every time you want to use it.
using std::endl; // or simply "using namespace std" to include the entire namespace

int main()
{
cout << "Hello World! " << endl;

return 0;
}
[/code]