Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Programming | VB with websites

AuthorMessageTime
Anubis
Hi, I've been making a chat server/client (in VB6) and I've been having trouble getting it to work over networks (If I'm on a network and my friend is on a different network, it wont connect.) Is there a way to do something like WebBot (Where it connects and sends/recieves data on a website)? If anyone can give me any help on this that would be great. Also, if anyone could give me some sample code that would be nice too :) I'm new to using VB with websites... Thanks
July 28, 2003, 5:07 AM
Camel
You are probably way in over your head, but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and try to answer your question anyways.

There are basicly two approaches you can take: one is to use HTTP Push and Pulls to immediately send data as it is updated, and the other is to store all of the information in a database that a script will read and create html for. You will need some program -- be it a custom server or custom bot -- to have access to the database and update the database with chat/the userlist as they change. One alternative to this would be to use BotNet; I wont get too detailed on this method.

If you are new to any of these concepts, I suggest you do some research on SQL databases, PHP, and possibly even ODBC (unless you are going to use MySQL).
July 28, 2003, 6:12 PM
Adron
[quote author=Camel link=board=5;threadid=2114;start=0#msg16273 date=1059415973]
There are basicly two approaches you can take: one is to use HTTP Push and Pulls to immediately send data as it is updated,
[/quote]

Could you explain this method some more? What ways are there for pushing updates to a client? Like, know any better method for updating an image than pushing animated gif frames down to the client?
July 28, 2003, 6:24 PM
Camel
[quote author=Adron link=board=5;threadid=2114;start=0#msg16276 date=1059416689]
[quote author=Camel link=board=5;threadid=2114;start=0#msg16273 date=1059415973]