Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Programming | Anyone heard of the language Perl ?

AuthorMessageTime
Tron
My mom's friend helped build it, pretty new, but I don't think you guys have heard of it. I'm gonna give it a shot since i'm relatively new to programming. Anyways, it's at http://www.perl.com if anyone wanted to know.
July 5, 2003, 1:08 PM
iago
I learned it a couple years ago, and it's a pretty good language. It has a lot of overhead, though, being an interpreted language, but it works well with CGI and web programming. It's unfortunate that to use it you have to have it installed in on the server and you have to be able to chmod your .pl files, so many servers (especially free ones) don't support perl.

I do enjoy using it, though, but I would learning c++ first. In case you're wondering, this is the order that I learned languages:
Basic, Visual Basic, Perl, C++, C, Java. My favourites are C/C++, Java, Perl/Visual Basic.

In my opinion, Perl/VB both have specific purposes but are limited too much to be terribly useful to me.
July 5, 2003, 4:18 PM
j0k3r
I found perl and php to be identical (although I haven't learned perl yet, I can read it fine and it seems to work the same as php) but php seems to be growing faster and taking perl's place.

Order I went in was:
HTML, VB, PHP, Turing, and currently working on C++. The easy languages are good to teach basics... But are also limitedely(sp?) useful.
July 5, 2003, 7:14 PM
herzog_zwei
Perl's not that new; it's been around since the late 80's.