Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | .NET Platform | [VB] 1st Error -- Making an IRC Client

AuthorMessageTime
Alendar
So I am slowly learning VB.NET and I am starting with making my own IRC client.

Right now I am getting this error:

[quote]Error 1 Handles clause requires a WithEvents variable defined in the containing type or one of its base types.[/quote]

From this line:

[code]Private Sub wsIRC_ConnectEvent(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles modDeclares.tpcIRC.ConnectEvent[/code]

Here is the the part where I declare the tpcIRC:

[code]Public WithEvents tpcIRC As System.Net.Sockets.TcpClient[/code]

Thank you for any assistants. As I said, I am new to VB.NET so if you have any tips for me they will be greatly appreciated.

Alendar

March 4, 2008, 2:51 AM
JoeTheOdd
Why is tcpIRC in modDeclares?

Other than that, I'm not sure. I don't know understand the syntax of VB.NET's events. If I really wanted to I could reverse some of my code with .NET Reflector, but I'm too lazy for now since someone else can probably help you.
March 4, 2008, 4:19 AM
Alendar
[quote author=Joe[x86] link=topic=17365.msg176784#msg176784 date=1204604391]

Other than that, I'm not sure. I don't know understand the syntax of VB.NET's events. If I really wanted to I could reverse some of my code with .NET Reflector, but I'm too lazy for now since someone else can probably help you.
[/quote]

That's just where I placed it. >_>
March 4, 2008, 4:24 AM
Myndfyr
Well, System.Net.Sockets.TcpClient doesn't have a ConnectEvent event.  In fact, it doesn't have ANY events.  So, even with a WithEvents declaration, you're not going to be able to hook into the events.  Because there aren't any.

RTFM.
March 5, 2008, 4:24 AM
Imperceptus
I am working on my own IRC client at the moment.  I am just using the socket class. not tcpclient.  So far so good with that part.  This should help get you going. http://perseus.franklins.net/dnrtv/0046/parta.html

March 5, 2008, 7:06 PM
Alendar