Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | .NET Platform | Converting horiz scroll bar value to decimal

AuthorMessageTime
RiffRiot
I have been trying to figure out if it is possible to convert the value, minimum, and maximum properties of a Horizontal ScrollBall Control in C# to Float, Double, or Decimal.  I am making a simple feature in my application that manually inputs a "weight" into a text box via a Horizontal ScrollBar.. however, I can't seem to convert the value type of the scroll bar to decimal for floating point precision.

I have tried using Convert.ToDouble() and double.parse() and typecasting.  I am fairly new to the .NET world but I have fair experience in C++, PHP, and VB.

Basically.. I want the value of the scroll bar to be 0.000(min) to 100.000(max) and the value is displayed on a text box.  Therefor, the value type of the scroll bar needs to be a decimal not int to show precision.
December 17, 2007, 9:31 PM
DDA-TriCk-E
You could try setting it to 1000 - 100000 then dividing by 1000. For example: 1002 / 1000 == 1.002
December 18, 2007, 2:26 AM
Myndfyr
This is a good example of a situation where the adapter design pattern would be appropriate.

Consider the first object diagram in the following image:
[img]http://www.jinxbot.net/pub/adapterpattern.png[/img]

The scroll bar and your class interacting with the scroll bar interact directly.  Unfortunately, the scroll bar doesn't provide the observing class with the information that it needs.  But, with a minimal overhead, you can create a class that lives between the scroll bar and the observer class - this is the adapter class.  It encapsulates the work of converting the literal units of the scroll bar to the target units to be used by the observing class.