Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Discussion | Audio Quality

AuthorMessageTime
FrOzeN
Most of the music I've downloaded has only been played through my crappy computer speakers, or through my headphones. So I've found that 128kbps has been fine to compress to without any noticeable quality loss. I'm planning to get a car in the coming months and put a quality sound system in. So I'm wondering if I'll start to notice the difference in quality from playing a 128kbps mp3 opposed to a 320kbps one. Any recommendations to what quality I should be after? Please post anything related to music quality. I've never really looked into this at all, and just assumed 128kbps would be fine.
November 4, 2007, 10:59 AM
SNiFFeR
You will definitely hear a quality difference as the music gets louder.
November 4, 2007, 5:39 PM
l2k-Shadow
128 is complete crap. I think 320 is even bad when you try to play it on a quality system. (but I'm a musician so my ears just really pick up on that stuff).

I compress my stuff into 500 kbps ogg vorbis, seems to be the best. I'd use a lossless codec, but then the size is just ridiculous.

But yeah, it will suck if you try to play it on a quality//loud system.
November 4, 2007, 6:23 PM
St0rm.iD
I'm a musician and recording engineer, and I've found that 128kbps MP3s aren't very good. AAC isn't bad though (iTunes format). Most consumer systems will make them sound good anyway.

If you're listening on studio monitors, though, that's another story entirely.
November 4, 2007, 7:57 PM
laurion
noob question; can you re-encode an mp3 to be higher quality (and have it actually sound better, not just be a larger file)?
November 13, 2007, 12:07 AM
Barabajagal
No.
November 13, 2007, 12:27 AM
FrostWraith
[quote author=Tazo link=topic=17147.msg174797#msg174797 date=1194912437]
noob question; can you re-encode an mp3 to be higher quality (and have it actually sound better, not just be a larger file)?
[/quote]