Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Discussion | If your versed in Canadian laws I'm looking for some advice.

AuthorMessageTime
dRAgoN
I have been working with a company now for I guess almost 2 years now, when they hired me they knew I never had a drivers license and it was okayed with one of our VP's at the time.

Well today I got fired and their reason was because I'm not licensed to drive I'm no longer fit to work with the company, I have a witness which was also there to hear this reason.

I have never signed anything telling me I should get one nor has anyone told me to get one, so I kind of have a little bit of a problem comprehending how he can do this and how much damage I can do to this company with the reason given to me.

Thanks.
February 2, 2007, 11:28 PM
Topaz
You weren't fired because you didn't have a drivers license...

It's because you suck so bad, so they went fishing
February 3, 2007, 12:29 AM
rabbit
I don't know about Canada, but in America an agreement with a witness is a legally binding contract.
February 3, 2007, 12:37 AM
dRAgoN
[quote author=rabbit link=topic=16232.msg163794#msg163794 date=1170463038]
I don't know about Canada, but in America an agreement with a witness is a legally binding contract.
[/quote]
Yes that is why I had somone in the boss's room to hear this reason they had gave me, so that I may have some sort of leverage for when I go to our labour board on Monday, just incase someone trys to change the story.
February 3, 2007, 2:00 AM
Topaz
Be smart and make sure you get it on paper, the agreement is still legally binding but proving it is another thing
February 4, 2007, 12:38 AM
dRAgoN
[quote author=topaz link=topic=16232.msg163856#msg163856 date=1170549494]
Be smart and make sure you get it on paper, the agreement is still legally binding but proving it is another thing
[/quote]