Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Discussion | Most marketable language today

AuthorMessageTime
DeeZ
Dear Fourm,

I'm a recent college graduate, and unfortunately looking for my first full time job in the computer field :O!!

I would be interested to hear a few opinions about what current trends are in programming. Specifically, what language would you say is the most popular among employers?

My first glance through classifieds suggests that Java is on top, but as quite a few of you have been immersed in the computer business, you may have a better perspective.

Thank you T_T
June 4, 2003, 3:22 AM
Naem
I invented K++ (Korea++) but then Kazaa Lite went out and stole it. Bastards.

Oh, right.. popular language.. it depends on who you're working for, what application you'll be programming. C++ always helps (or C, as Kp would tell you).
June 4, 2003, 5:22 AM
tA-Kane
If you plan on going into the application-development field, learn C or C++. Knowing your way around VB can be helpful, but I wouldn't put my money on doing everything in VB. If you plan on going into the web-development field (eww... web... eww...), learn HTML along with Java (eww... Java...) or PHP.
June 4, 2003, 6:01 AM
Raven
If you plan on going into the Web Development field (which is the most marketable one currently), learn Flash, Flash ActionScript, and the innerworking of Flash Generator. If you already have a working knowledge of C and C++, grasping Java shouldn't take you horribly long. But it seems nowadays, everyone wants to do stuff with Flash, and there's just so much to do, people that can do it are in high demand. I'm still a student, and I was lucky enough to find a nice high-paying summer job simply because I have a bit of a working knowledge with Flash. I don't think you can go wrong learning it, especially since it's so intuitive. Good luck! :)
June 4, 2003, 6:54 AM
DeeZ