Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Programming | Re: Proposal: A Mutual Tutorship

AuthorMessageTime
Ender
For the past few weeks I have been frustrated in that there are so many things I want to learn about computers and programming and I just can't fit it all into my day with school, homework, etc. My school doesn't offer any computer/programming classes from which I could learn anything, and I have been looking for out-of-school classes but I haven't found any interesting ones in my vicinity. I'm not going to be in college for another year and a half, so I have a long way to wait until I can take a good computer/programming class. So for the past 1.5 years I have self-taught myself everything that I know, and I have found that self-teaching can be very time-consuming... as reading textbooks on a subject can take weeks and even months. And when you're being taught, you don't have to search (both figuratively and google-wise) for answers to your questions.

And then I thought that there may be others on this forum in the same position as I am in.  So I'm proposing a partnership in which two people tutor eachother. People could make requests in a single thread for being tutored in a certain language or in a certain aspect of a language. Then other people can look at this request, and if they have the knowledge in the requested area, they can "bargain" with the requestor (I know a lot of us don't want to waste time tutoring others for nothing!) to see if they can learn anything from the other person.

I'd imagine the tutoring would just be IM sessions or a series of emails. I stress my idea that the tutoring be mutual: I don't think that many of us want to tutor someone without gaining anything in return. But if people are okay with it being one-way, that's fine too, and they can volunteer to handle the requests in this manner as well.

I hope this idea doesn't crash and burn :P
February 11, 2006, 3:16 AM
l2k-Shadow