Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | C/C++ Programming | C++ Design Question

AuthorMessageTime
Ender
EDIT: Tested out first question and got answer... but I have another question now.

I just tested to see whether .cpp files could access the code in other c++ files by including them, and it came out positive.  What I've been doing recently is putting both my functions, classes, and structs in header files, and utilizing them from a single .cpp file. This doesn't seem right, as open-source C/C++ projects that I've seen have multiple .c/.cpp files. So, when would you want to make a .cpp file instead of a header file?

(By the way I'm relatively new to C++)
February 6, 2006, 9:34 PM
Myndfyr
Header files provide the function prototypes and class interfaces.  They do *not* (or are not supposed to) contain code.

Functionally it's irrelevant; the compiler sees everything as code anyway.  You can include a .d file and as long as it's valid C/++ code you're okay.

The reason you have a .h file is that you don't want to include your code in external binaries.  Say for example I have a DLL or .LIB that exports the function

[code]
__declspec(dllexport) int blarghonk(void);
[/code]

You have two choices: you can separate these out by putting this declaration in your .h file and compile the actual code into your own binary.  Then, when someone using your code is working, all they need to do is compile with your header and link against your library or DLL.

This is why, when you create a new Win32 DLL project in Visual Studio, it'll do something like this:
[code]
#if defined(LIBRARY)
#define LIBAPI __declspec(dllexport)
#else
#define LIBAPI __declspec(dllimport)
#endif

// your function prototype would then be...
LIBAPI int blarghonk(void);
[/code]