Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Programming | [PERL] XMMS Current MP3

AuthorMessageTime
JoeTheOdd
A few things
1) This is my very first time ever using perl. When run in a terminal, it will output an error (about the way I call main()). If someone would like to fix this (or provide a link to information about this problem), it'd be apreciated. When run with JavaOp's /run command (which is why I made this), it doesn't output the error. Hm.
2) This will either output "XMMS Not Running" or the current MP3 using echo. In JavaOp, this is outputted to the chat window (in blue, ooh).
3) This is much easier to use if you move it to /usr/bin, asuming you have root access.
4) This code was written by Newby as an X-Chat perl script for the exact same purpose. All I did was basically stab it repetedly until it printed to the screen (it was rather easy too).

Without further ado, I present to you..
[code]#!/usr/bin/perl -w

# http://www.x86labs.org/
# http://www.javaop.com/~joe/
# Special thanks to Newby[x86]!

use Xmms::Remote ();
my $xmms = Xmms::Remote->new;

main();

sub main() {
  if (! $xmms->is_running) {
    system("echo 'XMMS Not Loaded'");
  }else{
    my $song = (($xmms->get_playlist_pos()) + 1);
    my $song2 = $xmms->get_playlist_title();
    my $songpos = parse_time($xmms->get_output_time);
    my $songlen = parse_time($xmms->get_playlist_time);
    my @songinfo = $xmms->get_info();
    my $prefix = "Current MP3:";
    my $message = "$prefix $song2 [$songpos of $songlen] [".($songinfo[0]/1000)."kbps]";
    system("echo $message");
  }
}

sub parse_time()
{
    my $xmms_time = shift;
    my $seconds = $xmms_time / 1000;
    my $minutes = $seconds / 60;
    $seconds = $seconds % 60;
    return sprintf("%02d:%02d", $minutes, $seconds);
}[/code]
November 5, 2005, 1:44 AM
Kp
No need to use echo, just print it directly.  I can't debug your other problem though, since I don't have XMMS integration in Perl.

[code]--- a/joe.pl 1970-01-01 00:00:00.000000000 -0000