Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Assembly Language (any cpu) | Where to start?

AuthorMessageTime
Networks
I was wondering if anyone experienced can point me in the right direction as to where I can start learning about overall game hacking and cracking. Things to do or not to do. Places to learn. Is it just practice or what? Are eBooks helpful? Thank you in advance.
October 24, 2005, 2:01 PM
Myndfyr
Chances are good you'll need to be familiar with disassembly tools.  I'd suggest picking up Hacker Disassembling Uncovered -- it's very good.  If you search, you might find an e-book on here that someone posted before.  *shrug*
October 24, 2005, 3:37 PM
Quarantine
Let's see..learn ASM ;).
October 24, 2005, 9:18 PM
Twix
I started learning asm off stuff I like for example Starcraft because I understood how Starcraft works so i could follow the disassembly code and understand where it was trying to go.
October 25, 2005, 3:29 PM
Networks
I understand some things, I've learned basics, I was really just curious what was the best method for learning.
October 27, 2005, 1:51 PM
Quarantine
Learn how parameters are passed to the stack and how to read them. Also learn how code is translated to ASM through C.

Try converting ASM -> C and vice versa. Start off simple and gradually get better.

You will also want to get good with a debugger (such as softice or windbg) and a dissasembler (IDA)
October 27, 2005, 2:17 PM
noob
Start by disassembling to learn assembler in higher-level terms. It helps to become familiar with debugging and reverse engineering to some extent. Games are generally complex monsters, so start off small with some trivial "Hello World"s and similar.
November 16, 2005, 1:50 AM
Quarantine
Learn how Direct3D works and OpenGL, learn about the Windows API in depth for you will need it to hijack the process and hook into all your functions.
November 16, 2005, 2:20 AM
noob
Also, don't bother with any books on ASM. They teach you bad habits. Learn on your own.