Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Fun Forum™ | Gary Stollman

AuthorMessageTime
Grok
I grew up in Tallahassee, Florida, near Florida State University. Every day after school until midnight, from 7th grade through 12th, I went down to FSU to program on the PLATO system. It was there that I made a lot of college friends, including Gary Stollman. I met Gary when I was about 16, and hung out with him for two years. Then I graduated and moved to Jacksonville, FL.

Gary used to amaze me at the things he would say or do. Once he "claimed" to have tricked Radio Shack into ordering 50,000 feet of coaxial cable. I'm like sureeee but he said he told them he was doing a special radio project. Then he takes me to the Governor's Square mall and shows me the Radio Shack having this huge sale on coaxial cable.

Then he tells me this totally ridiculous story about how he is responsible for the lack of Marvel Comics X-Men #1 on the West Coast of the United States. Growing up in Beverly Hills, he befriended an eccentric millionaire and used the guy's name to pretend he was a comic book distributor for the west coast. Marvel supposedly sent all 10,000 copies of X-Men #1 to this millionaire's house, which Gary received and stowed away in the guy's basement.

Again I'm thinking "surreeeeeeee you did". Until he shows me two bundles of still shrink-wrapped comic books, one was torn open, and he pulls out a mint X-Men #1. He keeps them in his car and uses them as money. And as it turns out, the west coast X-Men #1 mystery was never solved. Gary's apartment had comic books all over, but no furniture. He was a weird guy.

Then about 5 years after I knew him, he took over a TV station and ordered David Horowitz to read a statement about the CIA, aliens, and replacment of the human race on planet Earth.

Here is archived the writings of Gary Stollman.
http://www.freehomepages.com/jweyand2/gary.txt
May 9, 2003, 7:24 PM
Crypticflare
From what I read of it..thats quite...odd...