Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Java Programming | bot help

AuthorMessageTime
Dynobird
K, so this is my first attempt at making a bot...
Just to let you know, I don't want to write my own packets (yet) so I copied rabbit's packet from here. I call botconnect and its methods via my GUI. It then performs the sendAndReceive method without any errors (well, it could have sent the wrong stuff, but it doesnt kill the connection), and asks for an input.  Here's where I'm stumped. What am I supposed to input! Has the b.net handshake changed since rabbit wrote his packet? Also, the DataInputStream/DataOutputStream classes are deprecated, but my IDE (netbeans) allows me to use them nevertheless. I tried iago's suggestion of just using InputStream and OutputStream but those classes are abstract... and I'm unfamiliar with abstract classes. Perhaps I should learn how to handle abstract classes, and then use them... but if I don't have to then I would rather not. I also took the suggestion of changing chars to bytes...

Can someone help me out? Here's my code:
[code]
/*
* "My Pathetic Attempt" Part 2
*/

import java.net.*;
import java.io.*;

public class botconnect {

private Socket sock;
  private DataInputStream in;
  private DataOutputStream out;

/***** I call the constructors and methods via my GUI *****/
  public botconnect() {}

public botconnect(String server, int port) {   
        try {
            sock = new Socket(server, port);
        }
        catch(IOException e) {
            System.out.println(e);
            killSock();
        }
        try {
            in = new DataInputStream(sock.getInputStream());
            out = new DataOutputStream(sock.getOutputStream());
        } 
        catch(IOException e) {
            System.out.println(e);
            killSock();
        }
        System.out.println("IO Streams created");   
  }

//packet stuff that I copied from rabbit
  public void sendAndReceive() {