Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Discussion | First Job

AuthorMessageTime
Mephisto
Last month I got my first job and so far have received two paychecks totalling $700~.  Anyways, as I get more hours, more money, etc. I am wondering what I should do with this.  Should I open up a checking account and have it at my quick disposal or should I have a savings account?  I was thinking of finally creating a Paypal account and set up a Quicken account to keep my balances and such.  I don't know, I'm pretty new to all of this and any advice would be welcomed.  I don't want to necessarily use this money just to blow it, that's not why I got the job (but I do want money to buy the things I need on occasion and to go have some fun here and there).
July 21, 2005, 5:37 PM
Yegg
I would suggest saving your money, but while at the same time spending it on what you want or need, keeping in mind how much you will end up spending. Of course you don't want to go and buy something far too expensive and lose all the money you worked hard for.

I have to wait 3-4 months before I can get a job, soccer season starts and I can't work during it. :/
July 21, 2005, 5:42 PM
CrAz3D
Open a savings & a checking.  At our local banks you can generally get free a checking/debit card account.  I have a savings & a debit/checking account, I constantly use the checking for gas & other exoensive things.

$700 in 1 month!?  How much do you get paid, what are you doing, & where do you live?
July 21, 2005, 5:47 PM
DrivE
Checking is the way to go, IMO. Check out the bank that my dad works for, Branch Banking & Trust for all of your banking needs!  :P
July 21, 2005, 7:35 PM
Tuberload
A savings account should be automatically setup along with a checking account.