Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Battle.net Bot Development | [VB] Good Bot Programming Practices?

AuthorMessageTime
Tontow
I consider myself a to be somewhere between a moderate Visual Basic programmer and  I would like to discuss and learn what would be considered good bot programming practice and what would be considered bad bot programming practice.

From what I have read in the forums,  using CleanSlate or any form of it is considered bad practice. 

Also, it seems that everyone prefers to use some form of  C to program a bot; I myself would use some form of C# to program my bot, but I’m a C# newb and I know Visual Basic allot better.

Everyone also seems to use the exact same addchat and packet buffer class; is this good bot programming practice?

I also see the following code in allot of open source bots:
[code]SOCKET.getdata data, vbstring[/code]
Is using vbstring good bot programming practice?

How many forms, classes, modules, etc do you normally use and what for?  Or dose it really even matter?

What is the best way to break down or phrase data before you pass it to wherever you handle your chat events and packet data.

July 8, 2005, 10:23 PM
iago
Doing something that's already been done to death is boring.  Think of something new that nobody's done :P
July 8, 2005, 10:43 PM
Quarantine
You use as much forms/classes/modules as you need, of course each programmer has different methods of programming. Just use them how you feel they should be used.
July 8, 2005, 11:24 PM
Myndfyr
I highly recommend Code Complete.  It's one of the best books on programming practices that I've ever read.
July 9, 2005, 12:37 AM
Kp
[quote author=Tontow link=topic=12149.msg119742#msg119742 date=1120861386]what would be considered bad bot programming practice.[/quote]

Using VB to develop a bot. ;)