Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Visual Basic Programming | [VB6] Rich Text Box scroller question.

AuthorMessageTime
Needler
I am a newb to Visual Basic!

Wow, glad to come clean of that </sarcasm>

Anyhoo, I would like to know if there is any way to make a scroller for a Rich Text Box be different, IE: change the color of the bar, the background of it, or the arrows!

If there is a way, can you point me in the direction to get there, or if you don't feel like tip-towing around the issue, feel free to just flat out tell me.

Thanks!

June 14, 2005, 10:18 PM
Mangix
the only thing diffrent you can do with the scroll bars is make em horizontal or vertical. for color, i dont think its possible.
June 14, 2005, 10:35 PM
Needler
Thanks... That kind of sucks, but oh well, a program is a program!
June 14, 2005, 10:39 PM
Myndfyr
Generally, any window object type in Windows has a Window Procedure that allows it to be subclassed.  Scrollbars are no exception.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/dnwui/html/msdn_scroll32.asp

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/shellcc/platform/commctls/scrollbars/scrollbars.asp

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/shellcc/platform/shell/reference/functions/setwindowsubclass.asp

Mangix, why do you continue to post your incorrect information here?
June 14, 2005, 10:51 PM
Needler
Myndfyre, thank you very much! That was a great help...

I have another question however, nothing to do with RTBs this time around...

You see, I am tweaking with a bot's source code to sort of get into Visual Basic, and I want to change it so it is like a client to Battle.net, with the full screen thing, and I can do that almost perfectly, but when I set Borders to 0, or none, it simply shows as if it has 3, or Fixed Dialogue... Any idea why this is happening, and if so, do you have any solutions?

I have an icon for the form, no caption, nor do I have a menu on it.