Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Discussion | Computer Problems

AuthorMessageTime
Mephisto
Our family computer was originally an old Dell PC.  It got destroyed due to lightning frying it.  So it was completely restored with a new mother board, processor, ram, tower, etc.  In fact, I doubt there's anything Dell in it anymore.  So now it's basically just a bunch of junk assembled together (Durin 1300MHz, 256MB RAM, some generic CD-ROM, some generic Hard drive, etc.).

Anyways, I installed Windows XP.  Then after about 4 months it broke down, and I suspect it was my brother's fault for getting a virus.  Windows XP, everytime it would load up it'd just restart before the login screen appeared, suggesting to me file dependencies were missing.  So I tried to repair the installation, but for reasons beyond me it wouldn't load my disc (I'm not too good at this part of computers; BIOS, etc.).  So my Mom sent it in and the guy said the BIOS was configured incorrectly to where it wouldn't read boot discs first before loading anything else, blah blah.  He also said an operating systems from Dell (My WinXP CD was created from Dell) installed on non-Dell computers (remember that this computer isn't really a Dell anymore) would eventually break down.  I assumed it was a bunch of garbage, and that's not really the issue now.