Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | General Programming | Learning how to program, where to begin?

AuthorMessageTime
Persona
Hi friends,

I have no experience whatsoever of programming and programming looks like a task that not everyone are capable of. However, I have a great will in programming, because my end goal is to program a Bnet chat/telnet-client bot.

For all of the programmers here on VL.com, how long did it take each of you guys to start from zero knowledge of programming, to being able to program a basic functionable Bnet bot that can recieve and respond to commands from its master?

What's the best route to start learning? Did you take programming classes in school? Or can programming be learned straight from reading a few books? If so, I hear that C++ is one of the most common programming language, can you give me recommendation for these books? Finally, when do you make the transition from reading books, and fiddling with simple programs, to programming bots?
April 26, 2005, 10:43 AM
Adron
It took me 8 years from I started programming until I had written my first bot. I learnt Pascal, C and C++ from reading books.

And I don't recommend learning programming because you "want to write a bot and that's it". It's too much work to learn just for a bot, you'd be better off using someone else's bot.
April 26, 2005, 11:17 AM
Persona
Haha.. I was actually thinking that the journey would be fun, not the destination. However, 8 years is a long time.

What percentage of programming knowledge that you've learned would you say that are mandatory knowledge to program a chat-client bot? A similar simple bot that Blizzard had on their web page, but unfortunately, I'm having trouble finding the source for it.
April 26, 2005, 11:28 AM
Psycho