Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Visual Basic Programming | Noob Here Needs Help

AuthorMessageTime
Sniper9392
So Far I Have Been Learning VB (Duh) and all i no how to do is click a button get an answer and it unloads and make msgboxes. i would like to learn more. :)
March 18, 2005, 10:20 PM
Quarantine
Good for you.
Start off by learning the different data types and string manipulation is a must.
You might want to learn how to use Arrays, Enumerations, and Structures.

Once your more along the road look into Network programming (making a simple chat server).

You might want to learn how to manipulate Data sent to you over a network (DWORDs, WORDs, BYTEs, etc..) since it is a good skill to have if you ever desire to work on a Battle.net Bot or whatever.

One last thing I recommend learning is the Windows API since it allows you to play with various things which often is really cool to do.

I know there may be more I am not thinking off but I'm late for CS.
March 18, 2005, 11:33 PM
LivedKrad
How about learning the simple intrinsic functions first? Or, learning to use and manipulate the simpler ActiveX controls sent with the Visual Basic runtimes?
March 18, 2005, 11:56 PM
R.a.B.B.i.T
Also learn how to double-click controls to bring up their default function in the code window!
March 19, 2005, 2:12 PM
Quarantine
That would be a tutorial on knowing your way around the IDE :P
March 23, 2005, 6:22 PM
UnLeaDeD
If statements are good to learn which would be included in warriors arrays.
Another good thing to learn is the variable types VB uses (String, Double, Single, Integer, etc.), and mess around adding and subtracting Numbers.
April 21, 2005, 1:45 AM
LivedKrad