Valhalla Legends Forums Archive | Advanced Programming | "Hooking" War3's WSARecv

AuthorMessageTime
UserLoser.
Hi, I'm attempting to write a semi-useful hack for Warcraft III, so ofcourse I'll need to be hooking it's WSARecv and WSASend calls to get everything started (the fun stuff).  I'm quite new to overlapped I/O (or using WSARecv for that matter) so I've come to some troubles.  Currently where War3.exe would call WSARecv I have replaced it with my function:

[code]
int __stdcall WSARecvStub(SOCKET s, LPWSABUF lpBuffers, DWORD dwBufferCount, LPDWORD lpNumberOfBytesRecvd,
  LPDWORD lpFlags, LPWSAOVERLAPPED lpOverlapped,  LPWSAOVERLAPPED_COMPLETION_ROUTINE lpCompletionRoutine)
{
return WSARecv(s, lpBuffers, dwBufferCount, lpNumberOfBytesRecvd, lpFlags, lpOverlapped, lpCompletionRoutine);
}
[/code]

This code works fine.  Setting lpCompletionRoutine to anything else (which I thought would do the trick) causes it to return SOCKET_ERROR (-1) which isn't good and causes War3 to think something went wrong (well something did, but that's not wanted).  How could I go about receiving data and reading what the data is?  I'm assuming modifying/using my own WSAOVERLAPPED structure would be correct, but where do I start?
December 31, 2004, 12:16 PM
Kp
First, you need to determine how war3 does its network input.  It could be using a blocking recv, a non-blocking recv, an overlapped read with completion routine, or an overlapped read with I/O completion ports.  Identify and post which it is and I can guide you further.
December 31, 2004, 5:27 PM
UserLoser.
[quote author=Kp link=topic=10066.msg93956#msg93956 date=1104514056]
First, you need to determine how war3 does its network input.  It could be using a blocking recv, a non-blocking recv, an overlapped read with completion routine, or an overlapped read with I/O completion ports.  Identify and post which it is and I can guide you further.
[/quote]